Well, the phone rang the other evening; just across this stretch of water that separates us from the mainland, a wonderful old friend was calling to find out how we have been doing over here “on the farm.”  He was calling to say hello and find out the “truth of things.”  It seems that I have not taken my rose-coloured glasses off and am painting a rather pastoral picture of our new life on the farm.

Jules-Adolphe-Aimé-Louis Breton (French, 1827–1906)

I think that perhaps my well-intentioned blog is appearing a wee bit more romantic than I originally intended it to be, but this is the way all things appear once my eyes have looked upon them. It is no big surprise though, given that I have been known to see such things as food poisoning in India in a positive light.  Yes, I am a person who does indeed see the glass as half full.  I am not sure why this is, and it is not an attempt to be dishonest, just a natural and inherent tendency.  You see I come from a long line of optimists, my 95-year-old Japanese grandfather is able to see the time he spent living in a chicken-coop during world war two, as good luck. He has forever seen the blessings that life bestows upon him and is known for his appreciation of the simple things.

i

Nonetheless, if it’s truth you want, I am going to attempt to tell you the way things have been around here these past few days, without my rose colored spectacles.  Let me begin by saying the sun, is not shining. The rain is pouring down and has been since early this morning when two cords of firewood were dropped off on the front lawn, three hours earlier than expected, and two weeks later than hoped for.  Mark says that in his opinion, working with cords of firewood is much harder than working at piano chords and I laughed hard at this, being a very unsuccessful piano player.  So for 3 long hours Mark wheel-barrowed, and I stacked.  By lunch time each piece of wood was in its new dry and proper place, and as my dad would say, “we got er done.”

We then spent another two hours spreading top soil on our new veg plot, soil that was quickly turning to mud.  We did this until our bodies insisted that we stop and irritability took over. Our frustrations came out on the rakes and the shovels, but truth be told, mostly on one another.  After giving up on the mud spreading, we came into our cold little house (cold because all the contractors are busy at the moment, and our wood stove requires tiles around it before it can be lit). We have now taken to wearing 3 layers of wool indoors. The saving grace, would of course be a bath, that is, if we had a bathtub that would fill up with hot water beyond three inches…Otherwise we spent a good while cleaning up cat pee, as one of our dear sweet kitties is finding some difficulty in adjusting to her new home.

So there you have it, “the truth.”  And even as I write this, I am laughing, because it all seems very funny.  I mean, to be able to have a go at one’s dream at all, is a blessing indeed, and if the only thing challenging you is a little cat pee and a rainy day, well hell, how lucky can you be?  Yes, there is much to be grateful for.  We also drank home-made chai tea today and we felt a deep sense of productivity sink in our bones, as we are beginning to see our dream take some shape.  The air is fresh and clean and the view from the window is nothing but trees dancing in autumn’s wind.  Our dog is peacefully sleeping on the floor and there is a local free range chicken roasting in the oven.  There is hot tea in the pot and a plan to go out this evening.  Yes, truth be told, we wouldn’t change any of it, not for the world.

PS- Happy Autumn Equinox~  Day and night are of equal length today.  Tis the celebration of opposites.  So, it seems that we are right in line with the greater flow, moving back and forth between the positive and negative.  I think the wise one’s call this balance.

